The Paleo Lifestyle: What does it mean?

If you’re like me, you get confused by all the new diet fads out there. Everyone has a different opinion about how to eat healthfully, and it’s overwhelming. Well lately, a lot of my friends are posting information about Paleo on Facebook and Pinterest. So, I decided to do some research to see what all the fuss was about.

Basically, Paleo is short for Paleolithic. This diet, I mean lifestyle, is all about eating the way the cavemen did back in the day. Since the cavemen were hunters and gatherers that comes down to a meat-centric diet with vegetables and fruits that they could find. They were not farmers, so they did not eat foods with gluten, such as wheat and other grains. The Paleo lifestyle is heavy on protein, regardless of it’s calorie or fat content – so bacon is ok! The only carbohydrates they eat are complex, coming from fruits and vegetables. They don’t eat simple, starchy carbs like refined sugars or gluten-rich foods, like pasta, rice, or bread.

As a result of this research, I have discovered some very interesting alternatives to gluten-rich foods. I’m not sensitive to gluten, nor do I want to eliminate it entirely from my diet. However, I’m always looking for ways to reduce my calorie intake without reducing the volume that I eat 😉

Below you’ll see links to recipe alternatives that I can’t wait to try:

Leave a Reply

